Peaches and Cream

It’s farmer’s market season, and that means my Saturday mornings are spent perusing the vendor booths in the parking lot of our town’s city hall.  Choosing the prettiest heads of cabbage, and the plumpest pickling cucumbers, the brightest bouquet of zinnias, and the peaches with the prettiest blush on their fuzzy cheeks.

This morning, I found myself with two very ripe peaches staring up at me from the kitchen counter. Their skins were just beginning to get a little loose, and I could smell their sweet ripe scent without lifting them to my nose. They really needed to be eaten or used in some form or fashion. We’d ploughed through the other seven in the bunch, and these were the last two stragglers. They’d been slightly under-ripe when I’d brought them home on Saturday, but now they were threatening decomp on my counter.
When I glanced at my Facebook wall, I noticed that Foodimentary had posted that it was National Peaches and Cream day.

Well, then.  I guess that was my answer.  Peaches and cream.

So, I halved my peaches and removed the pits.  I dropped one half of each into 2 half-pint mason jars, and topped those with 1 teaspoon of salted butter, 3/4 teaspoon of sucanat (you could use brown sugar if you don’t have sucanat) and the leaves from a sprig of thyme per jar.  I topped that with the other half of the peach.

I made a sweet biscuit dough, comprised of 1/4 cup of flour, 1 tablespoon of sucanat, 1/4 teaspoon baking soda and 1 Tablespoon of butter.  I brought it all together with about 1/4 cup of buttermilk and divided the batter evenly between the two jars.  I baked them in a 350F oven for about 15 minutes, or until the topping was golden brown, and I could see the peaches had softened and the liquid was bubbly.

I allowed them to cool a bit, then poked  holes in the crust with the fat end of a chopstick.  I carefully poured a couple of tablespoons of cold heavy cream into the jar and allowed it to soak into the crust and down into the peach syrup.  Then I ate it.  And I knew I had done the right thing.

Individual Peaches and Cream Cobblers
prep time: 5 minutes
bake time: 15 minutes
serves: 2

  • 2 peaches, halved and pitted
  • 1 Tablespoon plus 1 1/2 teaspoons sucanat, divided
  • 1 Tablespoon cold butter, cut into small pieces
  • 2 teaspoons softened butter
  • 2 sprigs of thyme
  • 1/4 cup white whole-wheat flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk
  • 4 Tablespoons cold heavy cream
  1. Preheat your oven to 350F.  Have two half-pint mason jars ready
  2. Prepare the batter.  Combine the flour, 1 tablespoon of the sucanat, and the baking soda.  Cut the cold butter pieces into the flour mixture until it resembles coarse meal.  Add the buttermilk and stir to combine – do not overmix.  Set aside.
  3. Place 1/2 of each peach into  the mason jars. Top each half with 1 teaspoon softened butter, 3/4 teaspoon of sucanat the leaves from the thyme sprigs.
  4. Place the other half of each peach on top and spoon half the batter into each jar.
  5. Place the jars on a pan and bake in the preheated oven for 15 minutes, or until brown and bubbly.
  6. Remove from oven and allow to cool a bit.
  7. Just before eating, poke holes in the crust of each cobbler and pour 2 tablespoons of heavy cream into each, letting it soak into the topping and down into the fruit and syrup.
  8. Eat and enjoy!

16 thoughts on “Peaches and Cream

  1. Awesome! This is right up there with brownie in a mug (on CHOW.com). We were trying to think of what to do for dessert after dinner, so we took a couple of nectarines and put a little butter and brown sugar (my husband put a little blue cheese on his as well) and stuck them under the broiler. They turned out pretty good but needed a crumble topping, because the butter and brown sugar tended to melt and run off too much. Then I saw your recipe-perfect solution! Mason jars are a great idea too.

    1. I know – it seems like everywhere I turn people are baking in mason jars. What can I say – I was inspired. Definitely give it a go – the peaches melted beautifully and created their own sauce when mixed with the butter and sugar (the thyme added a nice note too). And then the cream really topped it all off. Let me know what you think.

    1. Thanks so much – must admit it’s not an original idea (seems like everywhere I turn there’s something being baked in a jar). It is handy, though, and would be great for a dinner party or barbecue.

    1. Hi Amanda;

      Thanks – the whole peach thing worked out beautifully – they were just the right size to fit in the half-pint jars, and it was the perfect ratio of fruit to topping.

  2. Friend,
    Those look DELICIOUS. Where do I get mason jars? (I know, I know, as a southern woman I should just HAVE them, but I don’t). I’m thinking that Richard’s Variety Store may have them? Does that ring a bell?

    I want to eat these immediately. Thanks to you, I have 8 peaches en route Wednesday from Nature’s Garden Delivered. And they are already earmarked for a bourbon peach cobbler for B. and adorable mini-things for me.

    Love the new blog, by the way!

Leave a comment